Presenting the award from PERMA (left to right) Jeff Van Dyk, Chief James Salerno & Assistant Chief Jeffrey Morris.

Port Washington Police District has received the 2016 Ken Herman Sr. Memorial Risk Management award from PERMA, the District’s workers’ compensation coverage provider. The Ken Herman award is given to a PERMA member that exemplifies PERMA’s mission to improve workplace safety and wellness through exceptional participation and utilization of PERMA’s programs. The award was presented May 25 at PERMA’s 2017 Annual Member Conference in Lake George, NY. The District was chosen because it is fully engaged in being a PERMA member. Chief among the criteria the District met or exceeded were:

  • Employees open PERMA email communications at a rate 280% higher than the average PERMA member
  • Submitting all claims through PERMA’s online portal – ensuring prompt attention to the worker and prompt transmission of information to the Workers’ Compensation Board
  • Requiring all employees to take a seven-course online safety training series that addresses both federal regulatory requirements and the unique needs of police officers

“Port Washington Police District excels in maintaining a safe workplace,” said Jeff Van Dyk, PERMA executive director. “The District’s management is dedicated to gathering and implementing knowledge that can benefit all their employees. Port Washington’s participation in PERMA program is a model to all members.”

Kenneth Herman, Sr. served on the PERMA Board of Directors from 1982 to 1997, and was its first Chairman elected from the membership. PERMA presents the Ken Herman award not only as an on-going tribute to Herman, but also to recognize the municipal employers who continue his legacy of involvement in workplace safety and wellness.